The Seriously (!!!!) Good Exton-Muesli

Hello World

No, I haven’t been covered in tuna and thrown into a pit of hungry kittens. I’m actually still alive. I’ve just been craaaaaaaazy busy doing schoolwork. (For your information: I’m currently trying to get my IQ back up to at least 10, since it miraculously disappeared completely over the past year!) But even though all the stress has been getting to me, I’ve still had heaps of time to miss New Zealand every day. And I’m telling you, that constantly being reminded by your screensaver of that country’s beauty just isn’t a good solution to your problem, or better, my problem. Even facebook became one of my worst enemies and scrolling through my photos is the worst thing anyways!
I’m not saying that I’m unhappy about being back in Switzerland (NO…not at all! I’m probs as happy as a dog with two tails) but OH NEW ZEALAND, it’s just not the same without you around!  I reckon the ‚go-with-the-flow‘ lifestyle of New Zealanders has become too big a part of me. (I forgot how to study for an exam. How is that even possible?!)

But at least I can treat myself to a little bit of New Zealand every morning for breakfast. My hostmum made this seriously, like SERIOUSLY (it’s so serious it’s not even funny anymore) amazing muesli mix, which I always ate for breakfast. Because I couldn’t live without it (of course) I got myself the recipe and now my mum’s addicted too. You should be unbelievably happy and feel honoured that I’m sharing this gorgeous recipe with you. But seriously (!!!!!!!!), be careful that you don’t get addicted!!!

Seriously Good Muesli (The Exton-Recipe) 

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 cup bran flakes
  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup sesame seeds
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1 cup coconut flakes
  • 1 cup dried fruit
  • 1/2 – 1 cup nuts, coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 cup wheat germ

Method

  • Melt the honey and oil together in a big frying pan
  • stir in bran, rolled oats, seeds, nuts and coconut flakes
  • toast unitl golden brown
  • remove from heat and stir in the dried fruit
  • allow to cool completely then stir through the wheat germ 
  • store in an air tight container

Tipps: 

It is easy to adapt this recipe to suit individual tastes by varying the seeds, dried fruits and nuts. Mum and I normally use apricots, dates, figs, and raisins, sometimes mango, sunflower-, sesame- and pumpkinseeds and for the nuts we use hazelnuts and almonds. The recipe doesn’t make a lot of muesli but you can easily double or triple the ingredients to make more, since you can store it for a long time.

 

ENJOY!

2 Gedanken zu “The Seriously (!!!!) Good Exton-Muesli

  1. Pingback: Mother’s Day Brunching – feat. Himbeer-Scones und Müsli im Glas | Steffi's

Kommentar verfassen

